Friday, September 20, 2013

Review: The Hidden Wings Series by Cameo Renae

Book Blurbs

In the beginning… the start of it all.



The Fall.

Take a journey back in time, to a place where Emma’s lineage begins, and where answers lie in unraveling secrets of the past. This is a story of forbidden love, an unbreakable bond, and the start of a dark adventure that will fill your heart with many emotions.

Seventeen is a life changing age for Emma Wise.
As her family's sole survivor in a car crash, she is left with a broken arm and a few scrapes and bruises. But these are only outward marks; inside, her heart is broken and the pieces scattered.

Whisked away to Alaska, to an aunt she’s never met, Emma starts over. Secrets unveil themselves and now…she doesn't even know who or what she is.

A centuries old prophecy places Emma in the heart of danger. Creatures of horrifying and evil proportions are after her, and it will take Emma, her aunt, and six, gorgeously captivating Guardians to keep her safe. But, if she can survive until her eighteenth birthday... things will change.

Emma’s world is falling apart, and Kade, the only one who seems to hold her together, is missing. With death lingering right outside their door, decisions must be made before it’s too late.

The Midway has refused to send help, so they are left to seek out the only other who can stop Lucian.

A perilous quest sends Emma and a few Guardians into the Underworld, where the unimaginable abide, to beseech the Prince of Darkness himself. Lucifer.

Now, they must endure the deadly levels of Hell, which not one …mortal or immortal… has ever survived.

Prepare for love, loss, and the unexpected.

Buy Links

Descent - Amazon ~*~ BN

Hidden Wings - Amazon ~*~ BN

Broken Wings - Amazon ~*~ BN


Author Info

Cameo Renae was born in San Francisco, CA, raised in Maui, Hawaii, and recently moved with her husband and children to Alaska.
She loved reading from as long as she can remember, and it was C.S. Lewis' - Chronicles of Narnia - which sparked a fire in her soul and made her want to create her own wondrous, magical worlds and awesome characters to go on adventures with.
In My Dreams & Hidden Wings were both recently published through Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing earlier this year. Descent (A Hidden Wings novella) was released May 15, 2013, and Broken Wings (Book 2 in the Hidden Wings Series) was released June 1, 2013.
One day she hopes to find her own magic wardrobe, and ride away on her magical unicorn... Until then... she'll keep writing!

Follow Cameo on:
Website: ~ for future updates.
Twitter: @CameoRenae

My Review

(Written and Provided by Amber McCallister)

The Hidden Wings series is a beyond words, unforgettable story that will have you running the gamut of your emotions while falling hopelessly in love with the mystery and intrigue of the world of Cameo Ranea. Renae births a world of pure love, overwhelming passion, and mind-numbing adventure that is then offered to us if we have the courage to explore it. The Hidden Wings series is my first foray into the genre of fantasy that includes a heavy emphasis on Angels, and I was anything but disappointed. I have to admit that I am very glad that I decided to take the plunge and immerse myself into this world, but what made it so special was having Cameo Renae as my guide. 

You will never find a dull moment throughout this series, and even in the midst of horrifying danger, you will find yourself laughing at the antics of some to ease the tension. This is not to down-play the depth of emotion and breath of transformation that takes place in this story, but to emphasize the unwavering surety and growing affection that our band of misfits comes to share for each other. A strong and unbreakable family is created where there were once only lost and forgotten souls. Where pain and heartbreak resided, we come to find that a life-changing hope and a relentless love that has come to take its place.

The writing in this tale is so beautiful and exquisite. The story feels like it jumps right off the pages and plays out in your heart. Cameo writes with such passion and intimacy that I felt like these characters were meant for only me to read and enjoy them. I was pleasantly surprised at how chivalry was breathed into every word throughout this journey. The love felt between the various characters was of a true, honest, and heartfelt nature. It was refreshing to see such purity and hope portrayed as this story progressed throughout the years.

The Hidden Wings series is truly an irreplaceable jewel in the world of words and emotions that people like me so resolutely call home. I gladly and exuberantly welcome Cameo to my home, and I hope that she will stay for a very long time. I whole-heartedly recommend this series to all who enjoy the fantasy genre. You will be glad you took part in this journey, and you will be anxious to see what Renea writes next as I am.

No comments:

Post a Comment